Day 104 -Flooded Pathways

August 12th, 2016 – Last night we were hit with a powerful thunderstorm after a week of high humidity. This morning I went for another morning running with the intent of going down the route I missed initially back in Day 88.

While much of the area the storm hit has dried up, the park still faced flooding. Many of the pathways within the park were closed and I had to take several detours before I got to the boardwalk I wanted to run on.

Surprisingly, the boardwalk was open with only some of the pathways being closed from flooding. I enjoyed a quiet run through the boardwalk finding myself jogging in the middle of a pond. Despite the pathway mostly being dry, the weight of myself was enough to raise the high water levels to flood some of the wood boards. I finished my run with only minor soaked shoes.

Leave a Reply

