Day 45 – Restarting A To-Do List

June 3, 2016 – Today I went on a walk down to the grocery store. During my walk back I was listening to the Art Of Manliness Podcast’s episode about Self-Motivation and Productivity. This podcast featured one, Charles Duhigg, who wrote the book Smarter, Faster, Better. Charles talked about how there are two kinds of people out there, the ones who are busy and the ones who are productive. He brought up some really interesting points in regards to how these two types of people approach their tasks, their levels of success, and their stress levels.

To summarize, he argues that people who are busy are the ones who put their least important, easy-to-do, tasks on top of their list. While people with these lists cross off a bunch of To-Dos they do not get the tasks done that meet their long-term goals. I realized that this is exactly how I was doing my To-Do lists. I had a large list of items that kept me busy 12 hours a day, 6 days a week. However, I noticed overall I was not completing any of the items that were most significant towards my long-term goals.

So when I got home I spent a good few hours researching how to create a To-Do list then re-formatting my current list to make it more productive. After I finished that I spent the rest of the day working on my goals marked as “High Priority”. The end result was that I ended up getting so much more of the important items knocked off my list and freeing up a lot more time in my day. For the first time in a long while I was not only able to finish the most important goals several hours earlier, but I was able to spend my Friday night completely stressed free. I’m going to continue using this system then writing up a blog post on my Challenge List blog about my experiences.

Leave a Reply

